# Bristol City Council Minutes of the Public Safety and Protection Committee



# 7 June 2016 at 1.00 pm

#### **Members Present:-**

Councillors: Chris Davies, Donald Alexander, Richard Eddy, Sultan Khan and Chris Windows

Officers in Attendance:- Pauline Powell, Emma Lake, Abigail Holman and Jeremy Livitt

Apologies for Absence: Councillor Anna Keen, Ruth Pickersgill and Paula O'Rourke

#### 1. Election of Chair

Resolved – that Councillor Khan be elected Chair for the Public Safety Protection Committee for 2016/17 Municipal Year.

#### 2. Election of Vice Chair

Resolved – that Councillor Eddy be elected Vice-Chair for 2016/17 Municipal Year.

### 3. Welcome, Introductions and Safety Information

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting and asked all parties to introduce themselves. He explained the relevant Safety Information to everyone.

#### 4. Annual Business

The Committee considered the Annual Business Report. The following membership of the Public Safety and Protection Committee was noted:

Councillor Khan – Labour (Chair)
Councillor D Alexander – Labour
Councillor Langley – Labour
Councillor Keen – Labour
Councillor Pickersgill – Labour
Councillor Eddy – Conservative (Vice-Chair)



Councillor Windows - Conservative Councillor O'Rourke - Green Councillor C Davies - Liberal Democrat

The Terms of Reference, as set out in the report and as approved at Full Council at its Annual Meeting on 31<sup>st</sup> May 2016, were noted.

Members discussed options for establishing 2 Sub-Committees (A and B) to meet alternately throughout the year at the following times:

14<sup>th</sup> June 2016 Sub-Committee B
12<sup>th</sup> July 2016 Sub-Committee A
16<sup>th</sup> August 2016 Sub-Committee B
20<sup>th</sup> September 2016 Sub-Committee A
18<sup>th</sup> October 2016 Sub-Committee B
15<sup>th</sup> November 2016 Sub-Committee A
20<sup>th</sup> December 2016 Sub-Committee B
24<sup>th</sup> January 2017 Sub-Committee A
28<sup>th</sup> February 2017 Sub-Committee B
28<sup>th</sup> March 2017 Sub-Committee A

The Committee agreed to establish 2 Committees as follows:

PSP Sub-Committee A (6 Members) – 3 Labour, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 Liberal Democrat

PSP Sub-Committee B (4 Members) – 2 Labour, 1 Conservative, 1 Liberal Democrat

and with the proposed Terms of Reference set out in the report. In view of the numbers of Councillors present from each party, it was agreed that the subsequent meeting which had been provisionally convened as a Sub-Committee A should be held as a Full Committee.

#### Resolved -

- (1) that the Membership of the Committee be noted;
- (2) that the Terms of Reference of the Committee be noted;
- (3) that the above Dates and Times of Meetings be approved;
- (4) that the size of Sub-Committee A and B be agreed as set out above (ie Sub-Committee A 6 Councillors, Sub-Committee B 4 Councillors) with the membership to be determined at a later date:
- (5) that the Terms of Reference of the Sub-Committees as set out in the report be approved.



# 5. Membership

Please see Minute Number 4 for details.

#### 6. Terms of Reference

Please see Minute Number 4 for details.

# 7. Dates of meetings

Please see Minute Number 4 for details.

# 8. Membership of Sub - Committees

Please see Minute Number 4 for details.

#### 9. Sub-Committee Terms of Reference

Please see Minute Number 4 for details.

# 10. Apologies for Absence and Substitutions

Apologies for Absence were received from the following: Councillor Anna Keen, Councillor Mike Langley and Councillor Ruth Pickersgill.

#### 11. Declarations of Interest

There were no Declarations Of Interest.

#### 12. Public Forum

There were no Public Forum items.

# 13. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Resolved – that the Minutes of the Full Committee held on  $14^{th}$  July 2015 be approved as a correct record and signed by the Chair.



Meeting ended at 2.00 pm

CHAIR \_\_\_\_\_

